Google Plus was launched with a great fanfare and it tried to score points where Facebook was struggling. Privacy settings is one such aspect. Facebook had lot of incidents where privacy of quite a few people was compromised and it brought a lot of bad name for Facebook. This is where Google+ tried to cash in. Apart from creating a compelling social network, one of the most alluring aspects of Google Plus is Privacy Settings.
Google Plus provides you better privacy protection, but it is up to you to make the most of it. Misunderstand a particular aspect at your own risk. If you’re not careful, you might make the same privacy mistakes on Google+ as you did in Facebook. Google+ provides many privacy options for posts, photos, and your profile. Here’s how to do Google Plus Privacy Settings like a Pro:
Customize Google Plus Privacy Settings
You can join a conversation by commenting on a post. Your comment will automatically be shared with everyone who can already see the post. This means that if someone shares a post with a circle, and you comment on that post, your comment will be visible to everyone in that circle. Typo? Change of heart? You can edit and delete your comments as well.
When you share a link or a picture or what is in your mind, sharing it “public” will definitely give you a better exposure, but at the same time it is likely to get indexed by Google. So, beware of what you share as that particular link or picture might show up in search results.
Also, your contacts may reshare it further. You have the option to disable reshare if you’re using Circles to keep certain posts limited to close friends and family. After posting, click the arrow to the right of the post, and select the option there to disable reshare.
Customize album visibility. Go to your profile -> Photos -> View all albums. The little icons next to the album names signify its visibility: public (a globe), private (a lock), and limited (two heads). To change the visibility for any album, select it, click the link next to “Visible to,” and enter Circles or e-mail addresses.
Control photo tagging – By default, anyone can tag you in photos. To change this, go to Google+ settings, then scroll down and select which circles can tag you by adding circles under the heading “People whose tags of you are automatically approved to link to your Profile”.
Go to your profile and hit “edit profile.” You can now click on any element in your About section to change its visibility. Other tabs in your profile, like Buzz and +1 also have privacy options you may adjust.
Change search visibility
If you don’t want your profile to show up in search results, click and uncheck the option “Help others find me in search results.” For more, read how to disable search of your google+profile.
Hide or expose Circles
When people visit your profile, they can see who’s in your circles and who has included you in theirs. Hide either or both of these modules by clicking “Change who is visible here” in the left sidebar of your profile.”
Many games in Google+ need access to some information about you in order to work. When you click Play to start playing a game for the first time, you will be told what information a game is requesting from your Google account. Please read the request carefully. If you choose not to grant the game permission, your information will not be shared and you will not be able to play the game.