Today Google+ rolled out a new feature to ignore people in Google Plus. With this feature, they’re trying to emulate real life situation, where you ignore a few people. You don’t avoid them, but you ignore them. You can notice the subtle difference 🙂
Google Plus already had the Block feature, which you can use to completely avoid a person. Ignore means you’ll see less of what a person is sharing (i.e., you’re just not interested). Block additionally limits the ways a person can interact with what you’re sharing (i.e., you don’t want anything to do with them). And in either case, we don’t notify the person that you’ve ignored or blocked them.
One of the best features of Google+ is to use Circles to help you connect with your friends, family and others in a way that reflects your real-world relationships. In real-life there are also people you don’t know, don’t like or don’t want to hear from. Google+ is trying to emulate the same. relationships That’s why a new “Ignore” option has been introduced, alongside the stronger “Block” option.
What Does Ignore Mean
Ignoring someone is basically saying you’re just not interested. Maybe you don’t want to see what they’re sharing. When you do Ignore someone, a few things happen on Google+, including:
– you won’t see any of their posts in the Incoming stream
– you won’t get notifications about their activities
– you won’t see them on your Circles page
The Ignore option is available from multiple places on Google+. And importantly: Google+ doesn’t notify people that you’ve ignored them.
How to Ignore People in Google+
- You can ignore someone from Notifications in the Google+ bar, or the Notifications stream. Just click Ignore next to their name, and you’ll see a confirmation message.
- You can also ignore someone from Incoming, and again you’ll see a confirmation message.
- You can ignore one or more people at once from your Circles page. Just highlight them, and click ignore.
If you change your mind you can always find the list of people you’ve ignored under More Actions on the Circles page. You can un-ignore directly from here, or by adding people back to a circle.
Blocking someone is much stronger than Ignoring them – It’s basically saying you don’t want anything to do with them on Google+. After you choose this option, following actions happen:
- They’re removed from your circles and your extended circles
- You won’t see any of their new posts in the Stream
- They won’t see anything you share with your circles.
- They can’t comment on your posts
Block is available on a person’s profile, and everywhere ignore appears. Google+ doesn’t notify people that you’ve blocked them. You can always unblock people from your Circles page. Click More Actions, View blocked, and unblock them
I love this featu. Did you find it interesting ?