How to Delete Old iTunes Backup Files

Posted by Mayank on May 11, 2012 in How To,iTunes

Whenever you upgrade to a newer version of iTunes, the iTunes application creates a backup file during the upgrade process. This backup file can be used to revert back to original (pre-upgrade) settings in case of an unsuccessful upgrade and in the event iTunes becomes unusable (a rare scenaio though). Backup of your current iTunes happens in the background and you’re not asked to take a separate backup.

Backup files, though useful in times of need become an unnecessary burden at times because they occupy space, which can be put in some other and better use. Also, keeping data in multiple forms (including backup files) is also creates the possibility that the data can be retrieved in some form or the other, which makes it vulnerable especially in case of a theft.

Deleting Old iTunes Backup Files is easy.

  • Launch iTunes
  • Go to Preferences
  • Go to the Devices tab
  • Select the old backup files and delete them.

Thank you for reading How to Delete Old iTunes Backup Files from Survival Guide. Why not like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments on this entry are closed.