Quick Guide to the New Privacy Settings for Facebook

Posted by Mayank on August 23, 2011 in Facebook

Post image for Quick Guide to the New Privacy Settings for Facebook

Facebook unveiled a number of changes to its privacy settings to make it easier to limit shared items to certain groups, bringing it more in line with the privacy-focused Google+. The Facebook Blog reports that the changes are more visual and straightforward. The updates are significant enough that Facebook will make every single one of its 750+ million users go through a tutorial about the updated privacy settings.

The most important change is moving most of your controls from a settings page to being inline, right next to the posts, photos and tags they affect. Plus there are several other updates here that will make it easier to understand who can see your stuff (or your friends’) in any context. Here’s what’s coming up, organized around two areas: what shows up on your profile, and what happens when you share something new.

Let’s have a look at the important changes announced :

1. Inline Profile Controls

Before : Almost all the settings were in the settings page.

Now : You can edit and control the visibility of individual parts of your profile from the profile page itself.

2. Profile Tag Review

Before : Photos you were tagged in would show up on your profile as soon as you were tagged.

Now : You need to approve the location and photo tags before they can appear on your Facebook profile.

profile tag review

3. Content Tag Review

Before : Anyone who could see your photos or posts could add tags to them.

Now : You have the option to review and approve or reject any tag someone tries to add to your photos and posts.

content tag review

4. View Profile As …

Before : The tool for doing this was behind the scenes.

Now : This tool is now on the top of your profile where it’s easier to access.

view profile as

 

5. Inline Controls

Before : Controls for who could see your stuff on Facebook were in the settings page.

Now : The control for who can see each post will be right inline.

inline controls

Few other changes include change of “Everyone” to “Public”, ability to change who can see any post after sharing the post, ability to tag someone without being Facebook friends with them (approval will be needed though, as discussed earlier), ability to add location from anywhere regardless of which device you’re using.

These changes will start to roll out in the coming days. When they reach you, you’ll see a prompt for a tour that walks you through these new features from your homepage.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

Comments on this entry are closed.